South Dakota Cosmetology InsuranceTDG-admin
South Dakota Cosmetology Insurance
Do you carry a current professional cosmetology insurance policy? If not, it would be a good idea for any cosmetologist working in the state of South Dakota to choose to protect their careers. Not only will this offer protection from certain lawsuits filed, but it will also cover you financially in the case of legal fees. A personal professional cosmetology policy is the only way to ensure full coverage for yourself.
Two Main Types of Cosmetology Insurance
Professional liability (or malpractice): protects mistakes you’ve made in services provided to your clients. For example, the cosmetologist uses a new wax on a client, and the client suffers a negative skin reaction leading to medical bills and time off from work. He or she could choose to file a financially-hefty claim against you; but with a professional policy, you would be covered.
General liability (or slip-and-fall scenario): protects claims made due to bodily injury or damage to a client’s property. For example, a client trips on the leg of your hair styling chair and falls to the floor. She suffers injury, which leads to her filing a lawsuit against you. Under your liability insurance, you would be covered.
Why should I carry cosmetology insurance?
Cosmetology insurance will protect you in the case you injure a client. For example, if you perform a haircut or color they are not satisfied with, and the client chooses to file a lawsuit against you. You are fully covered with a professional policy. You won’t have to worry about losing your license, or paying fines that may come along with lawsuits. Your policy will cover the costs of potential claims against you.
Having your own professional liability insurance is the way to save yourself from certain liabilities. Working in the beauty industry, you deal with numerous clients everyday—using chemicals, hair dyes, electrical and/or sharp equipment. Don’t leave your well-earned license to chance.
South Dakota Cosmetology FAQs
Am I eligible to obtain a cosmetology license?
Yes, you have to be at least 18 years old and have earned a high school diploma or GED.
What do I need to do to obtain my cosmetology license?
You will have to complete 2100 school hours and pass NIC written, NIC practical, and state law exams.
Do I need a license to be a cosmetology instructor?
You need a cosmetology license, 1,000 hours of salon experience, and 1,012 clock-hour instructor education program.
Does the state of South Dakota require me to complete continuing education units (CEUs)?
Yes, instructors are required to complete 12 CE hours of a commission-approved course per year.
How often do I need to renew my cosmetology license?
A person practicing cosmetology must renew on or before the licensee’s birth date every year—along with a $20 dollar fee.
Moving to South Dakota from another state?
You must hold a current license from a state with equal or greater requirements, or work experience may be considered (2 work hrs = 1 school hr), and you must pass SD laws and rules exam.