Oregon Cosmetology InsuranceTDG-admin
Oregon Cosmetology Insurance
Carrying a current professional liability policy is a good idea for any cosmetologist working in the state of Oregon. Not only will this protect you from certain lawsuits filed against you, but it will also help you financially in case you are found liable. Although some employers offer insurance to their employees, this most likely includes only partial coverage. Having a personal professional cosmetology policy is the only way to ensure full coverage for yourself.
Importance of Carrying Cosmetology Insurance
In this vast beauty industry, there is a high chance issues will occur at some point in the duration of your career. Whether you are a fresh, new cosmetologist right out of school or a highly experienced beauty professional, mistakes can happen either in or out of your control. But, there is a simple solution to this uncertainty.
Carrying the appropriate cosmetology insurance can save you from these unexpected scenarios, such as a client slips and falls on your floor or a product causes an allergic reaction. Your own cosmetology insurance policy covers your business and your well-earned reputation.
Two Main Types of Cosmetology Insurance
Professional liability (or malpractice): covers any error or flaw in services you’ve provided. For example, a hair stylist puts dye on a client’s hair and leaves it on for too long, and the client suffers burns to the scalp. He or she could choose to file a claim against you.
General liability (or slip-and-fall scenario): covers a cosmetologist against claims made due to bodily injury or damage to a client’s property. For example, a client slips on hairspray residue on the floor and suffers an injury. The client could then file a claim, but you would be covered.
Oregon Cosmetology FAQs
Am I eligible to obtain a cosmetology license?
Yes, there are no prerequisites.
What do I need to do to obtain my cosmetology license?
You will have to complete 1,800 school hours, 150 hours of safety/infection control, 100 hours of career development, and pass both written and state law exams.
Do I need a license to be a cosmetology instructor?
You need two years of training, one year of work experience as a certified practitioner following licensure, and teacher registration (issued by the Department of Education).
Does the state of Oregon require me to complete continuing education units (CEUs)?
Yes, instructors are required to complete 30 CE hours for renewal of teacher registration.
How often do I need to renew my cosmetology license?
A person practicing cosmetology must renew his or her license every two years by the last day of the month of issuance—along with a $40 dollar fee.
Moving to Oregon from another state?
You must submit an affidavit of licensure and a qualifying application and pass the written exam, which includes the Oregon Laws & Rules exam.