North Dakota Cosmetology InsuranceTDG-admin
North Dakota Cosmetology Insurance
If you’re practicing cosmetology in North Dakota, it is smart for both the longevity of your career and the financial well-being of your business to carry your own professional beauty liability insurance. Because there are so many services provided that require you to get up close and personal with your clients, there will always be chances for accidents to happen.
Either in or out of your control, these accidents can ruin a career you worked so hard to attain. The good news is there is a simple solution right at your fingertips—carrying the appropriate liability insurance.
Two Main Types of Cosmetology Insurance
Professional liability (malpractice): protects you against claims made due to an error on behalf of your services. For example, if a client’s scalp burns due to a hair coloring treatment staying on too long, he or she could choose to file a lawsuit against you. However, you would be covered.
General liability (or slip-and-fall scenario): protects you against claims made due to damages that occurred in the environment in which you run your business. For example, a client slips on hairspray residue on your salon floor and suffers injury. He or she could file a lawsuit against you, but you would be protected under your cosmetology insurance coverage.
Why should I carry cosmetology insurance?
You might tend to think that the risk involved in your job is minimal, but the number of claims keeps going up, and many cosmetologists have found themselves in court facing huge claims for damages. Cosmetology insurance provides valuable protection against legal claims. These claims, for example, may allege that beauty services rendered were substandard, not within profession’s scope of practice, or were performed incorrectly, thus causing an injury or financial loss.
North Dakota Cosmetology FAQs
Am I eligible to obtain a cosmetology license?
Yes, if have earned a high school diploma, you are eligible to obtain a cosmetology license in the state of North Dakota.
What do I need to do to obtain my cosmetology license?
You will have to complete 1,800 school hours and pass written, practical, and state board exams.
Do I need a license to be a cosmetology instructor?
Yes, you need a cosmetology license, one year of experience and 160 hours of training.
Does the state of North Dakota require me to complete continuing education units (CEUs)?
Yes, instructors are required to complete 8 CEUs every year.
How often do I need to renew my cosmetology license?
A person practicing cosmetology must renew his or her license every year by December 31st—along with a $15 dollar fee.
Moving to North Dakota from another state?
No problem, just make sure you provide a letter of certification from current state board and a copy of the state’s licensing requirement. Or, you must take the North Dakota Laws, Rules & Regulations exam.